Belated resolutions and a trip down memory lane…

First, let’s start with the belated new year’s resolution: I, Amy Li, promise to maintain a weekly (maybe bi-weekly) blog. I originally started this blog as part of my portfolio for an online presence and social media course and had vowed to update it periodically to maintain said online presence. So the resolution is to maintain that presence by blogging more often.

Now that we’ve established that I’m going to be writing on here a lot more than I did in the past year, I invite you to take a trip down memory lane with me…

…I’ve been doing a lot of thinking lately. I’ve been out of school for almost 8 months now, and interning at Folio Literary Management for about 5 out of the 8 months. Things are going well, but truth be told, I had always thought that I would have an entry-level  job and on my way to becoming a great editor by the time I was 22, but I forgot to consider the effects of a recession.

I remember the first time I told my parents I wanted to work in publishing. At the time, the phrase I used was “writer” because to 10-year old me, the term “writer” encompassed all things related to newspapers, magazines and books. Correct terminology aside, I knew what I wanted to do.

Truth is, English never came easily to me. I grew up in an immigrant household in a small town of Connecticut. My parents could barely speak English, let alone help me with my homework. I remember failing one too many spelling tests before my mom hired a private tutor to help me with reading and writing: Ms. Marjorie. She was great. She always encouraged me with cat stickers, stuffed animal cats and books about cats (I really liked cats). As I worked with her, my writing and reading abilities improved and I not only caught up with my classmates, but even surpassed them. I still remember the approving look on my 3rd grade teacher’s face when she read the final revision of my mermaid short story. As the school year progressed, I started to get more and more 12 out of 12’s on my writing prompts. Reading and writing slowly began to take over my life. I loved to read. I loved to write.

That was when I decided that I wanted to be a “writer.” And even to this day I still consider myself to be a grammar nut,  an avid reader and lover of all things literary. Though I might not necessarily want to write books, I have a dream of helping authors perfect theirs. 

