Life’s too short to be camera shy

I’m usually the first person to admit that I hate getting my picture taken. I hate my face, my arms, my legs, everything about me in pictures. It just doesn’t look right. Ever. In fact I hardly ever take pictures with friends or family. With how advanced technology is these days, any picture from that embarrassing candid to that awkward pose can appear on the inter web for all of humanity to laugh at. So I tend to avoid getting my photo taken. But the fact of the matter is, life’s too short to be camera shy.

You never know when someone is going to just suddenly vanish from your life. Whether it be due to death, disease or just a mere accident, people can just suddenly disappear from your life. And you’re suddenly left with nothing to remember them by—no photos to remember the times you shared, no permanently preserved memories. Nothing but emptiness. Morbid to think about, but it’s true. Life is way too short for someone to be camera shy. So my personal goal is to take more pictures with family and friends. To make more permanent memories. Besides, nowadays, we just use our smartphones as cameras anyway.

